Executive Board

The Executive Board is charged with day-to-day management and is responsible for running the university of applied sciences.

The members of the Executive Board are appointed, suspended and dismissed by the Supervisory Board of Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences.

Remuneration of the members of the Executive Board is set by the Supervisory Board. Its members hold full-time posts. Information concerning remuneration is available in the annual report (in Dutch).

Executive Board Members

J.E.A.M. (Jopie) Nooren

Chair of the Executive Board

J.E.A.M. (Jopie) Nooren was appointed Chair of the AUAS Executive Board effective 1 March 2021.

Jopie Nooren began her career as an academic staff member and university lecturer at Erasmus University Rotterdam. This was followed by positions at Zorgverzekeraars Nederland (an umbrella organisation for Dutch health insurers) and a director role at the Association for Disability Care Netherlands (VGN). She subsequently joined the board of directors of the Lunet Zorg healthcare institution in Eindhoven. Nooren served as chair of the board of directors at Bartiméus, a national expertise organisation for the visually impaired, from 2013 until 2021. From 2015 until 2021 she was a PvdA senator, holding the role of First Vice President of the Senate of the Netherlands from 2019 on.

Nooren studied Occupational Therapy at Heerlen University of Applied Sciences and Health Policy and Management at Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR).


Secretary Kim Franssen
Telephone 020 595 23 41
Email secretariaatvoorzittercvb@hva.nl


  • Communication and marketing/profiling
  • Administrative networks, such as the Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences (VH)
  • Amsterdam Economic Board
  • Teacher Training Programmes


  • Governance, Representative advisory bodies, participatory decision making and internal communication
  • Student engagement, including student partnerships
  • Internal communication
  • Local Consultation and Collective Labour Agreement
  • Audit and Institutional Research
  • Well-organised education programme (GGO)


  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Student health and well-being
  • Agile and resilient organisation
  • Human Resource Management
  • Complaints, objections and appeals

Dr. T. (Tijs) Breukink

Interim member of the Executive Board, portfolio holder Operations

Effective 1 April 2024, the Supervisory Board of Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences has appointed Dr Tijs Breukink as an interim member of the Executive Board. This appointment comes as Hanneke Reuling has left the university on 1 April, and Breukink will hold this position until a successor is found.

Dr. Breukink (born 1964) brings a wealth of experience in educational administration. He served on the Executive Board of Wageningen University & Research from 2005 to 2017. Following this, he became interim member of the Executive Board of HAN University of Applied Sciences and that of Fontys University of Applied Sciences, among other roles. Prior to his career in higher education, Breukink held management roles in the corporate sector, including at ARCADIS and DAF Trucks.

After completing a technical degree programme at Saxion University of Applied Sciences, he earned a degree in business economics from Erasmus University Rotterdam in 1987. In 1992, he obtained his doctorate in the same field at the former Katholieke Universiteit Brabant (now Tilburg University).

Contact details

Secretary: Silke Möller
Telephone: (020) 595 23 42



  • Financial governance
  • Planning and control


  • Strategic information policy, digital AUAS
  • Campus real estate and accommodation
  • Safety and Security policy
  • Sustainability, including occupational health and safety, and environment

Service provision

  • Development of service provision and the BVO
  • Facility, ICT and administrative policy
  • Valorisation and project support, including Holding HvA

G. R. (Geleyn) Meijer


G. R. (Geleyn) Meijer (1960) joined the AUAS Executive Board as Rector on 1 July 2018.

Dr. Meijer began his career at software company CMG. First as ICT innovation expert and later he was partner at Logica and director of strategy at Logica Management Consulting Netherlands. In parallel he was associate professor at the Human Computer Studies Laboratory of the University of Amsterdam. In 2011 he became Dean of the AUAS Faculty Digital Media and Creative Industries. In this role he was closely involved in the development of the Centre of Expertise Amsterdam Creative Industries Netwerk, the Knowledge Mile, the Master Digital Design and the Digital Society School.

Dr. Meijer studied Physics at the University of Amsterdam and obtained a doctorate there in 1991 in Robotics and Computer Science, researching how you can teach robots to handle unexpected situations in production processes via artificial intelligence.

Contact details

Secretary Martine de Nijs
Telephone (020) 595 23 51
Email secretariaatrector@hva.nl


  • Education vision and portfolio policy, including Life-long Learning
  • Quality assurance Education & Research, including quality agreements
  • Curricula development, including personalised and flexible learning pathways
  • Digital transformation of Education & Research
  • Research strategy, including research group policy
  • Internationalisation, such as U!REKA
  • Open science


  • Aligning developments in professional practice with Education & Research
  • Rich learning environment, including alumni relations
  • Entrepreneurship, valorisation and outreach

  • Board member of Fastswitch. Collaboration of universities of applied sciences focusing on programs Lifelong Learning
  • Chair of UASNL
  • Member of the program committee NOW-KIC of the dutch research council

Dorien Nelisse

Secretary (ad interim)

Contact details

Secretary: Anneloes van den Bosch
Telephone: +316 421 00 338
E-mail: secretariaat-secretaris@hva.nl

General contact details for the Executive Board

Post address
Postbus 1025
1000 BA Amsterdam

Visitors address
Wibautstraat 3B
1091 GH Amsterdam

Published by  Communication 28 March 2024