Representative Advisory Councils

Agnes Tay new CMR Chair

8 Sep 2020 11:12 | Representative Advisory Councils

Agnes Tay is the new Chair of the Central Representative Advisory Council (CMR). She officially took up the position during the first CMR meeting of the new academic year.

Tay, lecturer in Business and Economics, was elected to the position and is tasked with the day-to-day management of the council, alongside her council board colleagues:

  • Vice-Chairman Sander Christiaensen (Aviation student)
  • Secretary Niels Nanning (AUAS alum and IT consultant)
  • Treasurer Shermine Asani (Engineering student)

Tay is a longstanding member of the CMR. She has been involved in several aspects, devoting much of her time to human resources issues. In her motivation letter to the council, Tay wrote that she actually wished that a student could take on the chairmanship. “But since I was elected by a large majority, I also believe that I should rise to the occasion. In doing so, I will, as always, be well prepared, and will critically but constructively serve the cause of participatory decision making at AUAS”. She also wrote that she particularly wanted to act as a connector, motivator and guardian in order to achieve both the goals of the CMR and the Executive Board.

The meeting was held online because of the corona measures. During the meeting, therefore, a poll was held. This online tool guarantees the anonymity of the votes cast.

Day-to-day management

The CMR council board is in charge of the day-to-day management of the CMR. The board is responsible for dealing with issues that cannot be postponed. The board also deals with cases that do not require input from the entire CMR.