Research cooperation across Europe

Beyond our focus on Amsterdam, AUAS also has ambitions to increasingly collaborate in research internationally. It is crucial to build strong networks with peer institutions in order to safeguard the quality of education and applied research in an international context.

The Urban Research and Education Knowledge Alliance (U!REKA) is a concrete example of how we’re doing this.

U!REKA unites seven European higher education institutions, which have formed a strategic alliance around the shared themes of applied research, professional education, focus on our students’ future world of work and the professional development of our staff. In addition to the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, the collaborating institutions are:

  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Metropolia University of Applied Sciences in Helsinki
  • Politécnico de Lisboa
  • HOGENT University of Applied Sciences and Arts

  • VSB – Technical University of Ostrava

Within U!REKA, there are various thematic working groups: Research Support, Mobility, Joint Programmes, Communication, and Higher Education Research and Development. The Research Support group focuses on finding beneficial research collaboration possibilities and suitable funding opportunities for those projects.

The AUAS is a founding partner of this strategic alliance, which launched in Amsterdam in 2016. Through this collaboration, we are working to take the quality of our educational and research activities to a new level internationally, which will consequently better prepare our students for a changing labour market.

Published by  Communication 4 July 2023